Wild Swan Books

LNER Wagons Volume Two

LNER North-Eastern Area
Peter Tatlow

Hardback  -  204 pages  -  £33.95

Contents (ex-H&B, ex-NER & ex-M&GN Wagons)

The LNER was constituted from the North Eastern Railway, Great Central Railway, Great Eastern Railway, Great Northern Railway, Hull & Barnsley Railway, North British Railway and Great North of Scotland. All four of the grouping companies had an independent existence of just twenty-five years, before they were nationalised as British Railways, part of the British Transport Commission, from 1st January 1948.

Peter Tatlow has compiled a series of books for Wild Swan on the wagons absorbed by the LNER from its constituent companies and the standard wagon designs subsequently developed by the LNER. This second volume in the series includes over 60 wagon types encompassing the former Hull & Barnsley Railway and its great rival the older and much larger North-Eastern Railway, together with the Midland & Great Northern Joint Railway whose stock was renumbered in the LNER lists in 1928.

Volume One covered the ex-GN, ex-GC and ex-GE wagons absorbed by the LNER in its Southern Area and Volume Three deals with the ex-NB and ex-GNS wagons in the LNER Scottish Area. Volumes 4A and 4B conclude the series with coverage of the LNER standard wagon designs.

Example Two Page Spread [1]

Example Two Page Spread [2]


Example Two Page Spread [3]