Wild Swan Books

LNER Wagons Volume 4A

LNER Standard & Other Designs
Peter Tatlow

Hardback  -  184 pages  -  £38.95


The LNER was constituted from the North Eastern Railway, Great Central Railway, Great Eastern Railway, Great Northern Railway, Hull & Barnsley Railway, North British Railway and Great North of Scotland. All four of the grouping companies had an independent existence of just twenty-five years, before they were nationalised as British Railways, part of the British Transport Commission, from 1st January 1948.

Peter Tatlow has compiled a series of books for Wild Swan on the wagons absorbed by the LNER from its constituent companies and the standard wagon designs subsequently developed by the LNER. This the fifth volume in the series covers the LNER standard designs of containers & container flats, iron & steel carrying wagons, bolster wagons, specially constructed vehicles, departmental vehicles and goods brake vans.

Volume One covered the ex-GN, ex-GC and ex-GE wagons absorbed by the LNER in its Southern Area, Volume Two deals with the ex-H&B, ex-NE and ex-M&GN wagons in the LNER North-Eastern Area and Volume Three covers the ex-NB and ex-GNS wagons of the LNER Scottish Area. Volume 4A covered LNER standard designs of open, hopper and mineral Wagons, ordinary and special purpose vans.

Example Two Page Spread [1]

Example Two Page Spread [2]


Example Two Page Spread [3]